We all have a dream life right? The one in which jobs and school and very necessary things don’t matter at all? Well, I had a chance to step into mine on Saturday. We went on a drive to the Columbia River Gorge. The Gorge is ridiculously beautiful. Just stupid pretty. If you’ve not been there, well, I’m sorry. My fellow Portlanders know that it’s just an hour’s drive to the Gorge and so why not head out there for a day? It was in the 70’s this weekend and so Fancyhats and I had a date and went out there because when he asked me what I wanted to do for the day, I said, “drink a beer in the sun.” What better place than the Gorge?

In one of the little towns that hang in the hills around the Gorge, we spotted a flaky white sign, half hidden among ivy and a few more signs for the local mechanic and various unions. It said “Brewery and Farm.”

We headed up there and sure enough it was a shack and a small family farm sitting on the edge of the hill nestled among trailers and people living off the grid. The young family that ran the place was just a mom, dad and child. They’d made gardens and kept chickens and had goats and sheep as well as a greenhouse.

We ordered beer in the little shack and wandered around the property. It was so beautiful and I want to live there. I say this, but I know small town life is not really what I want. But the silence and the darkness at night certainly is. And more sunny days. This weekend is rain, rain, rain. And next week too. I think Portland’s spring is what separates the Oregonians from the Californians. I’m still so much of a Californian. These April showers better bring May flowers, and maybe some chocolate cupcakes.

The view from the brewery.

The view from the brewery.

Belly up to the bar.

Find a seat.

Find a seat.

Chickens - check. Beer - check. Mason jars - check.

Chickens – check. Beer – check. Mason jars – check.

Horseshoes.

Horseshoes.

Fancyhats told me not to move. I wanted to sit up straight, not like I was about to take a nap in the sun, which was what really going to happen.

Fancyhats told me not to move when he took this picture. I wanted to sit up straight, not like I was about to take a nap in the sun, which was what was really going to happen. But he told me to hold perfectly still — all slouchy like.

