We rang in 2013 in a hotel room on Mt. Hood with a split of champagne, a fire burning, the little boy asleep after several hours of skiing. Everyone safe and warm. And then we promptly went to sleep. Because staying up until 10 is tough enough for me. Never mind midnight.

I’ve been trying to think up some resolutions for 2013 but I don’t really do well at remembering goals I set all at once. Can I not do resolutions? And instead do a things on my mind for 2013?

My blog. My rules.

Things on my mind for 2013:

How do I help change our culture so kids aren’t slaughtered by lunatics with guns?

I can’t change it all on my own but I can work with others on this one. I am looking out for ways to help.

Five Plates

This will launch. And it will thrive. Looking forward to getting people cooking more. And to building my own business.

Travel

I took 8 trips for work last year. That’s too many. I took a handful of trips for pleasure. That’s too few.

Family

It’s always on my mind.

Screens

Less screens. More views.

Stop doing meaningless crap

Need I say more?

On our way to Mt. Hood. It's an hour from our house. We're spoiled like that.

On our way to Mt. Hood. It’s an hour from our house. We’re spoiled like that.

Swimming under the big top. The hotel said it had all weather swimming...except they forgot to heat the pool.

Swimming under the big top. The hotel said it had all weather swimming…except they forgot to heat the pool.

Home the back way via Hood River.

Home the back way via Hood River.

