NEW BLOG POST ON FIVE PLATES. IT’S A MEAL PLANNING APP!

It was dark at 7:30am today. Just a few more days until we’re on the upswing. Mercifully. But the dark days and the rain mean I’ve got to give up my beer with dinner and I’ve got to protect my exercise time like an angry bear mother. I don’t really know what I mean by that, but you get my drift. The mind starts to go in these days.

Five Plates

It’s complete. Holy shit. We’re testing this afternoon. I’m freaking out. I want to give high fives to everyone. But the short days and the rain turn high fives into a wicked urge to nap.

Portland

This morning I put on my galoshes and grabbed the compost bucket and walked outside, greeted the chickens and dumped the compost into Darth Vadar’s head. I said goodbye to the chickens and walked back inside and thought, DAMN YOU PORTLAND.

The Abbey

photo (14)Working today on Five Plates. I’m grateful for the natural light. The quiet. I’m grateful that our friends are rallying this season. In Portland, in the winter, friends tend to go into hibernation. This year has been a series of parties, get-togethers, lunches. I have that moment of not wanting to go. Of wanting to stay in my warm house, in a sweater and wool socks. And then I go. Because they’re our friends. And they make me laugh. Because they’re all crazy people. I say that with love.

Me

There’s a little voice in my head, since Newtown, that keeps whispering, you’re not doing enough. You’re not helping. You’re not making the world a better place. I’m listening to that voice and saying, okay, you’re right. Where do I start? Still searching for the answer.

