AKA “That Was a lot of Fiber in My Soup-Soup”

I took a recipe writing class this weekend. God help us all, that’s leading me to write my own recipes. I would like to preface this by saying this is the second recipe I’ve ever written, but I’m going to have to cowgirl up a bit because my new project is a recipe vortex so I’m going to need to start writing my own. I’m scared, Internet. Someone hold me.

This recipe is loosely based on a soup recipe I found in How to Eat Supper from the Splendid Table. I’ve modified it a lot, so I’m not really sure if I give them credit or not. I subbed brown rice for pasta and doubled the amount of tomatoes, increased the amount of greens and added more wine. I added a Parmesan rind and made a serving suggestion that they did not. I also rewrote the instructions entirely. And theirs is based on an Italian grandma’s recipe. So…is it still theirs? I have no idea.

I usually make this one day ahead (through the rice step) and then serve. It’s really good that way. And it takes about an hour from start to finish.

8 cups chicken broth (Preferably low sodium. I don’t know why. This is just what I bought.)

3/4 cup white wine (you could use a cup and I think that’s fine too.)

1-14 oz can whole tomatoes (You’ll be crushing them with your hands. The Splendid Table said to do this. I enjoy this process. If you don’t, then just buy diced tomatoes and call it good.)

2 garlic cloves

1 medium onion

1 can chickpeas

1 bunch escarole

1/2 cup chopped basil

1 Parmesan rind

1/2 cup brown rice

1 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Crusty bread

Extra white wine

Step 1 mise en place (this is a fancy way of saying get all your stuff ready before you start cooking. It also makes things move along faster.)

Chop onions. Mince garlic. Drain and rinse chick peas. Wash and cut escarole (I made ribbons). Chop basil.

Step 2

In a large pot, combine broth, wine, tomatoes. Crushing whole tomatoes with your hands as you add them. Bring this to a simmer.

Step 3

Add the garlic, onion, chickpeas, escarole, basil and Parmesan rind. Simmer, partially covered for 20-25 minutes.

Step 4
(If you’re making this ahead)

Let cool and place in fridge.

Step 5 (if you’re making this now or returning to it later)

Bring to a simmer. Add rice, simmer until the rice is cooked through. If soup seems dry, add water.

Step 5

Serve with grated Parmesan cheese and crusty bread and white wine. If you’re feeling awesome, rub some slices bread with a half of a garlic clove. Drizzle with olive oil. Place under the broiler until it gets toasted and serve these toasts with the soup. Only if you’re feeling awesome, however.

Season with salt and pepper.

Extra credit: drizzle soup with some good olive oil for extra yum.

 

Could one of you try making this recipe and tell me how it goes? Please? Thank you.

