Tags

, , ,

This weekend we had weather in the 70’s. It was beautiful and I got a sunburn after a long bike ride with the 6yo.We rode more than five miles and we rewarded ourselves with burgers in the sunshine. And then ice cream in the sunshine. Also, some soda in the sunshine. I didn’t do a good job with leading by nutritional example this weekend.

My sister-in-law was also visiting. If you don’t have a sister-in-law, I highly recommend picking one up. Mine is so wonderful. We haven’t had a chance to spend a lot of time getting to know each other — one of the (many) misfortunes of having one side of the family on the west coast and one side on the east coast. But this weekend gave us a too short opportunity to talk and become friends. I really feel so fortunate to have even that little bit of time to spend with her. She’s a caring, wonderful, kind woman. I was sad to see her go and I’m looking forward to her next trip.

I’m going to start feeling sad again, so I’m changing the subject now to CHICKENS! Our hens aren’t laying right now because they’re molting. Molting is when they lose all of their feathers and general get cold and cranky and then regrow feathers that come in these peculiar little shoots. We could give them a warm bath to free them of the wrappers their feathers come in. We could do that. But these are sensitive chickens and after last month’s raccoon attack, we’re just going to let them do their chicken thing in peace.

Look at that picture of them! Ugh. They used to be so pretty. And now…that. And they’re not laying eggs. I’m trying to just be supportive of them and not give them self esteem issues and also feed them organic cranberries and yogurt, but I want some eggs, lazy chickens!

I also finished my first Mad About Tosh project. Look how pretty! Lots of short rows in this shawl. Next project is mittens. Just in time for spring, but whatever. WHATEVER. I’m so happy to be knitting with Madeline Tosh yarn. The colors are so beautiful and it’s soft and lovely. Also, I didn’t see that drop of water on the table when I took this picture and I see it now and it’s bugging me. Just ignore it.

As for the rest of the weekend, it was Fancyhats’s birthday. For the first time ever, I got him gifts he actually wanted. I did a good job. I’m very proud of myself. One day I’ll tell you about how I’m the worst gift giver in the world, but today I’m just going to savor the fact that I rocked the birthday gifts.

